2021 Annual Report

September 1, 2020 - August 31, 2021


Each year during ASBA’s Fall General Meeting, the Association recognizes excellent first-year teachers, long serving trustees, outstanding school boards and citizens who contribute to public education in Alberta.

Friends of Education Award

This award recognizes organizations in the community that show commitment to improving education for Alberta students and who have made a significant contribution to education in Alberta. The recipient of the 2020 Friends of Education Award was the Royal Canadian Legion District 4 Command, nominated by Wolf Creek School Division, Millet, Alberta.

Public Engagement Award

Presented to a school board in recognition of their public engagement efforts, recipients of this award must demonstrate how they inform and involve stakeholders on school jurisdiction plans, programs and services. The 2020 Public Engagement Award recipient was the Foothills School Division for their multi-layered community engagement strategy for the 2020-2021 school relaunch, High River, AB.

School Board Innovation and Excellence Award

Sponsored by Xerox Canada Ltd
This award is presented to a school board for its role in launching innovative programs and initiatives that enhance student achievement. The 2020 School Board Innovation and Excellence Award recipient was Living Waters Catholic Separate School Division for “Beyond the Classroom (Life Skills)”, Whitecourt, AB.

President’s Award

Chosen by the President of the Alberta School Boards Association, this award is bestowed upon an individual who has made an exemplary contribution to education. The 2020 President’s Award recipient was Rick Massini, Vice Chair of Medicine Hat Public School Division.

Edwin Parr Teacher Award

Alberta School Boards Association established the Edwin Parr Teacher Award in 1964 to honour former Association president Edwin Parr. The 2020 Edwin Parr awards were held virtually honouring the excellence in first year teaching with the use of cutting-edge technology with avatars.

2020 Recipients

Zone 1

Nicole Cooper, Peace Wapiti Public School Division

Zone 2/3

John Maxwell, Fort McMurray Roman Catholic Separate School Division

Zone 3

Katelynne Ringuette, Lakeland Roman Catholic Separate School Division

Zone 4

Steven Prediger, Wolf Creek Public Schools

Zone 5

Josh Eberley, Calgary Catholic School Division

Zone 6

Nathan Comstock, Grasslands Public Schools

Edwin Parr Teacher Awards video

error: Content is protected !!